There’s nothing I know of, in Rio

Well, apart from a forthcoming Olympics, I guess? But fine, that should give you a clue to tonights video at least. That really was a two way choice, but hey, this is the preferred choice. I wouldnt be surprised if you dont get the other later this month, anyway.

So, given it starts next Friday, and apart from tomorrow, this is the last posting before then, I thought I’d better give it a quick mention. No, in truth, I wont go out of my way to see much of it, especially given that the evening entertainment, which tends to be the highlights, will be overnight here in the UK.

In truth, so far at least, its beginning to look a slight non event. A vast majority of the Russian competitors are banned, due to past, and present drug enhancements of their talents, their weightlifters even being pulled, because their Federation pretty much admitted they are cheating the system. Not that I suspect that all the competitors from other countries are innocent, much the opposite in fact, but anyway…! Its fair to say that one or two sports are so tainted, it would be the ones not cheating who would be the exception, rather than the other way around!

No, I’ve never actually been to an Olympic event, which is probably something I will regret someday, especially when they were held in London, but it was my choice. Funnily enough, I’ve been to a few cities where relatively recent Olympics were held, and seen a few locations used, but thats about it.

In that sense, the obvious place to start is London, where the last Olympics were held. In fact Stratford wasnt very far from where I lived between 2003, and 2005, but given I left just after the announcement, I havent seen the stadia in person. Yes, it might have been fun to have gone back, and seen the area in 2012, but given the prices of most tickets, the travel, and accommodation costs I would have incurred, I passed on that. As I say, give me a few years, I might regret it, but for now… As I say, 1908, and 1948 really arent relevant now.

The other city with special Olympic memories for me, is Athens. Not from when it actually happened in 2004, but from when it didnt happen, but they assumed it would, in 1996. There seemed to be some confident assumption in Greece that they would get said Olympics, as the centenary of the first one held there. Thing is, for whatever reason, they didnt, Atlanta beat them, and lots of recriminations ensued. My amusing memory of all this, going out there at the end of September 1990, on holiday, and seeing numerous shirts, and tops, proudly proclaiming Athens Olympics 1996, and of course, it wasnt going to happen. Surprisingly, not, they were being sold off cheap! Yes, I got one, though of course I dont still have it now. I did actually get to see 1 historic stadium from 1896 in Athens, but that was it.

The one city where I have seen Olympic venues, is the obvious one, Los Angeles. In fact, some of the venues from both 1932, and 1984 survive, and I saw them last year, on both trips. There is talk that they are going to try to again hold them in 2024 (the reason why Metro trains are going to be connected to the Airport), but we will see. In truth, unless I’m living in the area (I only wish!) by then, I’ll probably pass, for a ‘quieter’ time in the city, a merely relative term. Its why I’m amused by the fact I love the city so much, as it, especially Hollywood, is so unlike me, but hey, it happened anyway!

I have also been to Amsterdam, but as it was held there only in 1928, there wasnt much to see!

The video, as I say, was a 2 way choice. Given my love of the eclectic humor of Mike Nesmith, my love of The Monkees as a group, and the feel of the video, this was the obvious choice.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.