So which do you want?

Do you want the details of the day, or do you want the tale of someone who is no longer a Facebook friend of mine, due to homophobic comments.

OK, fine, a bit of both.

Right, for want of a better term, I did my last lap of jersey today. Yes, the alert ones amongst you will say that I’m here until Saturday, and you’re right. But Saturday will be pretty much just pack, and dash, and tomorrow, after a brief trip out, will be to say goodbye to St Helier, for, who knows? I doubt I will return again in 32 years, I’d be 88 then, if I’m still alive, which doesnt seem to be a guaranteed event, even now, with people living longer. To be fair, once the body, and insurance rates say that I can no longer travel to the US, then for as long as I can, I might holiday nearer home, but even so…

Today, I did what most sensible people would do (but I’m blonde) at the start of their holiday, I did the circular tour of the island, heading out east, then looping around at a nice pace, till we got back into town. The east coast, I did up to Gorey under my (helped by buses) steam, and the west coast, as you know, I’ve been all the way round to Greve De Lecq. But lets just say that most of the north coast, plus the east coast above Gorey is a ‘challenge’ by public transport, not really doable, so that was nice for me.

The woman next to me on the coach, even more so, as she left us at Greve De Lecq, having done most of the ‘tricky to see’ bit, though she missed out on the very north west corner, but hey, I can understand not waiting around an hour at lunchtime for that. But I’m glad I carried on, if only to be able to say ‘How much!’ for the items on sale at Jersey Pearl.

Fine, the second bit. Today, in the UK are some elections, both local council, and more critically the EU ones. I could have arranged a postal vote, but I didnt. I know, dont complain about results, but…So, when I got back on here, and logged into Facebook, what did I find?

A supposed Facebook friend (not that I know him, I suspect he befriended me from one of those ghastly ‘do you know?’ lists, as it was showing 2 mutual friends when I checked. Basically his posting was something about being proud to vote for UKIP, and hoping they’d see off those gay b******s in the country. Might not have been his exact words, but get my drift?

Now, given I have the whole gamut of LGBT folk among my real life friends, am Trans myself, and either lesbian, or bi, if I was interested in romance, you can imagine how I felt! Lets just say the jerk lasted about 5 minutes (while I ranted on Facebook) before being rapidly defriended!

His politics, no, I’m not a fan, but I wouldnt unfriend him just because of that, of course the killer was his homophobia, sadly there are still too many people like that about. I’m left wondering why he friended me though, unless he didnt realise I was trans! But thats not the point, his attitude just sickens me.

OK, last but not least, the video! No relevance to the post, its just that I’m on Jersey, and this was mine, and Sue’s song. Oh, and it was on the radio at breakfast this morning, which reminded me.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.