Back on the bus, and back to reality

Or in a non derogatory sense, its back on the chain gang. Which gives away the video at least. No, its not that bad really, but its still going to be a culture shock after all this time. The longest period of time that I can actually remember having off previously, and then gone back to the same job, would be an extended fortnight, back in 1987, which was my first ever trip to the US. Extended only in the sense that we flew out on the Saturday, so it would have been 2 weeks, plus 1 working day. This time around, its going to be 2 days short of 3 weeks! Wow!

The main difference though is going to be the situation when I get back to work. Back in 1987, working in a betting shop, there were no emails to return to, let alone the several hundred that will be waiting for me when I get back tomorrow. Mainly because back then, there were no such thing as work emails, of course! Now, 30 years on, we live by our work emails lol! Oh, and back then, the only ‘computer’ I had to help me with my work might have been a very primitive settling machine, though I’m not convinced we had them that far back, but as I cant remember the exact date we did, lets roll with that, certainly nothing more, if we even had that.

Oh, and back then, you needed to get an actual visa to go to the US, unlike today. I know, you still have to get approval to go there, but you do it all online, not sending off passports in the post, and hoping you got it back, care of the Post Office!

So yes, despite the fact that I will be doing exactly the same job tomorrow, as I was doing before I went on holiday, its going to take a bit of time to get back in the groove. Even more so, given that we started using a new call system on my last day at work, before my holiday. But yes, get there I must!

So yes, it will be interesting to get ‘back on the chain gang’ tomorrow, though there are certainly a few faces I’m looking forward to seeing again, I must say. But yes, I will be out of practice, and I just hope it all sticks in my head. Mind, if they needed to ‘download’ all that information into my mind again, it might be fun! Fine, you might hear at the weekend, if I have nothing better to write on Sunday, at least.

Fine, I’ve given enough clues to the video, so lets just get it posted up!

Leave a Reply

