My lips will be sealed

Well I decided it was probably a shrewd move to get my visa waiver sorted out before Trump, Pence and co take over on Friday, and try to start asking questions about whether potential visitors are LGBT or whatever, so I did it earlier today. Fine, before anyone jumps on me, I’m sure it would be illegal for them to do that, but I’m sure Pence would love to know which tourists he needs to offer conversion to, lol. Fine, I’d be interested to get that offer, but…

I realized just how long it had been since I did this (would have been Spring 2014), by all the extra questions now asked. Parents, employers, the works! I can see the logic of it all, but it all meant it took a bit longer than I’d thought. But yes, fine, I got authorized very quickly. All very much easier than getting an actual visa, believe me! Yes, I’ve been there, done that, first time was 1987! Yes, that old!

Mind, getting a visa waiver to visit, or indeed a tourist visa as it was that first time is a lot easier than getting a work visa would be! Still, maybe one day…?

The thing that caught my eye this time around, and maybe it was there before, and just didnt notice it, was that in addition to using the visa waiver for short term (under 90 days) tourist travel, you can use it for short term business trips. Anyone know exactly what that covers? I’m sure I can go visit an agency (or maybe 2) while over there, and discuss things, or equally, if a studio lost their minds, and decided they wanted to turn one of my books into a TV program, or movie, that would be fine. But beyond that?

Pretty sure that no theater, studio, or model agency would want to do an audition/test session while I was there, but could I do so without papers, if not paid? Gets even more complex as I have an American tax number, because of the ebooks, but clearly I’m registered as a non native for that. Dont get me wrong, I know that if they wanted to take it further, I’d have to go through the whole process of applying for a work visa, but can I make a case, and show it, without one? I cant see it coming to that, but you never know, I guess?

Maybe I should ask Mrs Trump lol, seeing she was earning money as a model in the US before she had any qualifying papers, oops! If Donald wants to provide me with work papers, just to keep me quiet…lol? You know, keep my lips sealed?

I’ve chosen the original version of this song, because I love the cheerier version, and besides, its more fun to introduce people to groups they’ve never got to know. So yes, Fun Boy Three did the famous version over here, but I prefer this!

Leave a Reply

