Things do get better

Yesterday was an interesting day, in so many ways. Due to the less than stellar state of public transport, early morning, on a Saturday, my options for getting to work for 9.00 were a bit limited.

The dull, safe bet was to leave here about 7.00, get the 7.30 bus from town, and get to work by about 8.30. Fine, except that I would have had to be up by about 5.45 at the latest, and then sit at work waiting for 9.00 to come round.

What was the other option, I hear you ask? To do something I havent done since August, take a train! It meant I could leave here about 20 minutes later, take a train to Bradford, and get to work (hopefully) about 10 minutes before starting time, ideal for setting up. Yes, attempted the latter!

I got to the station, train on time the indicator board said, great! Only snag was, I got to the Platform, no train! About 2 minutes before it was due to leave (7.50), they announce the train at Platform 6 is there, and we can board, but as you can guess, still no train! A Guard with a silly grin on his face stood on the platform, telling us it would be there very soon, but…

At 7.58, still no train, so I walked outside the station, got the 8.00 bus to Bradford, and got to work with about a minute to spare. Yes, the bus was busy, as companies still seem to think no one works on a Saturday, not true any more! So yes, what is normally a 6 bus an hour service, 2 isnt enough! I know, they wont learn, but…! No, I didnt see the famous station cat either!

As opposed to William Hill, when Saturday was by far the busiest day, in my new job, just the opposite, not many calls. Fine, most solicitors arent working, and only so many other people realize we’re open, so its mainly a day for doing admin, it seems. Fine by me, but…

With about 10 minutes to go to going home time, I got a call! I know, shock horror, in a call center, but besides all that…it was a lovely old lady, but she didnt want to give me details. For legal logistics, we arent allowed to give her more than limited details, non executor, for those who understand the term, so I couldnt go into the account. So I answered her questions as best I could, very generically, but yes, I did my job. At the end, she told me I’d eased her mind about things, and that for me was the main thing.

The funny thing, I was still on the call at the time we could go home, but what could I do? Thankfully, a few moments later, we were done, and I actually got out only about 5 minutes late. Then things picked up, I still just about got to the bus station in time for the 4.10 (no idea how?), just about got out of Huddersfield before the football crowd came out, and actually got home in about an hour and a quarter, definitely a PB! After the morning trip, amazing!

But yes, the main thing, easing someone’s worries, and making her feel better about events. Now that was the important thing!

The video, a bit of Yazoo. Though for many Brit’s, the Flying Pickets version is probably better known! Ah well…

Leave a Reply

