If I can remember what a holiday actually is?

Yes, I am joking on that front, because the last holiday I had, nearly a year ago now, is pretty near unforgettable. I’m not sure when I’m going to actually forget those 4 glorious weeks, if ever, but as things stand, its still my last holiday, and its going to be at least spring (unless something amazing happens) before I have another one. But yes, I’ve had to start thinking about that, for a very good reason. Besides which, I’m hopeful something as cheery, and non political as this might do better than last nights blog, which seems to have generally sunk like a lead balloon!

The reason I’ve started thinking about this, is not because I’ve come into copious amounts of money just yet, though hopefully things will start to look up on that front soon, but because where I’m now working offers you a priority choice of 2 holiday weeks for next year. Thing is, those dates have to be in this week, so…

I know, I dont have to think of locations at this point, just more work out a suitable date, but hey, this is me, and they tend to get related. So, priority one was contacting Kate, seeing when (and if) she fancied putting up with me again for a week, and it seems she does. Given it will be 2 years by next September, she’s had plenty of time to recover, anyway! I’ve got a week to work on for then, so thats one sorted. New England, if you were curious to know. With chance, I might even get to my hypnotist again, in New Hampshire, and he can ‘force’ Clara Johnson to give up a few more secrets about herself!

The other, me alone, takes a bit more planning. Firstly, the date, given Easter is late next year, which means a late April getaway, between UK Bank Holidays, becomes a bit of a challenge. So yes, I’m thinking May, either the week after the first Bank Holiday of the month, or the week after look good dates to me.

Next question was to myself, or more correctly, my body, as to whether it can stand another trip to the West Coast? Given it will be 18 months, my inclination is yes! In that case, it comes down pretty much to 3 choices, one of which is LA, though I’m sure it would be a hotel, if only for a week. Apartment (as I mentioned recently) is no longer available, so all in all…

The other 2 (less recently visited) options are a shade north of there, either San Francisco, or Seattle, both cities I love, and havent been to in a while. In truth, I’m pretty sure that I wont make any plans on that front until I know what week I’ve got, and how the baseball schedules look! Yes, I have to have my dates in by the 10th, next years schedule is announced on the 13th! In truth, that probably favours either of Seattle, or Los Angeles, as my preferred teams, and who has a home fixture to suit, or a home fixture at all! I love the park in San Francisco, but the Giants, and the A’s (over in Oakland) really arent teams I should be rooting for lol!

But yes, at last, I can start dreaming of US holidays again, a lovely thought. Especially as it will be my first trip on a female passport, something I’m really, really looking forward to!

The video is something I found by chance. Very early Village People, nearly 40 years old!

Leave a Reply

