Bradford, a provoking city

No, not in a bad way, and certainly not for me, but then again, I’m one of the fans of the city, so maybe I dont get it, but anyway…

Ever since I was a child, and even more so today, there seem to be lots of people who want to put down Bradford, and praise Leeds. Now, dont get me wrong, there are parts of Bradford that arent all that pretty, but there are a few of them in Leeds too.

As to the city centres, a lot of people rave about Leeds, but I’ve never been a fan. Maybe its because I’m older, have grown up with that as a place of work, whereas Bradford has been a place to visit, but in truth, my feelings about Leeds, as a city centre, date back long before then. In truth, I prefer Wakefield to both, as a place to go shopping, but fine, I’m weird that way lol!

I have now, at least, seen the new super shopping centre in Bradford, the Broadway, as I believe its called, though I havent been in it yet. I know the shopping park, opposite to work, a bit better already, mind! Mainly for lunchtime food stores, but hey, I’ve looked at a few other stores, just not bought anything quite yet, even though I have £30 worth of vouchers to spend in the Arcadia Group stores, in their unit there. I guess I’ve got so used to charity shops, Primark, and Peacocks, that paying ‘normal’ prices for clothing, even when its not going to cost me, is going to take some getting used to!

Its ironic, the area where I’m working, I can remember when it wasnt a nice area to go to, about 40-50 years ago, but things have changed dramatically on that front, at least! I still think that I might prefer to have a mobile phone (eek!) when I’m finishing at 8.00, when its all a lot darker, and things, so might have to break the habit of a long while, and get a cheap, basic one again. I suppose, also, if as that offer earlier that year came up, if I ever take the plunge to get back into acting again, I’ll need one anyway! Still, all for the future…

But yes, when it comes to the old Bradford v Leeds argument, call me awkward, but it will always be Bradford, of choice, for me. Yes, in a small minority lol!

Video time. Probably, for me at least, the most famous Bradford group that I know. First hit, not sure if the singing is live, but I think it is, doesnt seem to quite match single version.

Leave a Reply

