Impressed, and intrigued at the interview, so I’m going back.

As people know, strictly, I’ve been job hunting since April. Fine, I didnt try very hard in April, due to the fact that I knew I was away for the 2nd half of the month in LA, and no one was likely to start employing me before I got back. Then yes, again, in much of September I was doing similarly, a week in New England, and then due to 4 weeks in LA I was going to be doing, all of which meant that in October, I really wasnt trying at all. I did send in a few applications in the last few days before I came back, but otherwise…

The rest of the time though, I’ve been trying hard, and finding it a trying experience. Mind, whether the break has done me good, just maybe, as I did a phone interview tonight for a job, and found it an absolute stroll. Mind, they didnt ask any competency based questions, so that might have helped lol!

Anyway, lets go back a few months, in the very early days of job hunting. As was known back then, and still holds up to a great degree today, I’m looking for something new, a different challenge. Fine, its generally all call centre stuff, but not the betting industry. And one I saw, and took my eye, was for the call centre at a medical research place in Leeds. Ticked the boxes, something interesting, something fresh, so I took my chance…and blew it!

Yes, as I said, it was the early days, I really wasnt well prepared for all those competency based questions (some would say my skills are still limited, including myself), and I didnt perform all that well, and therefore, didnt get the job. But in the interim, after the interview, and before I left, I got a tour of the office side of things, and was duly impressed by the set up. And fine, at the time, I did think to myself that if I was ever going to volunteer for medical trials, it looked a nice place to go. Not that I know what others look like, but anyway…I didnt go any further with it at the time, and went back to job hunting, with little joy, and sort of forgot about things, like volunteering to do a medical trial.

Then in September (not sure if it was before, or after the New England trip), on Facebook appeared an advert for said medical research place, looking for people willing to do study checks. So, out of curiosity at first, I ‘liked’ their page. What I discovered was that the person (or persons) doing their page there, clearly loved her job, and made it entertaining to read their posts, not boring, as so many businesses are. So I got to thinking again, maybe I should go ahead and do it? So I enquired whether transgender people were fine for these (rather assuming I would have to do one open to both genders), she checked, and yes, it was fine, as I’m not doing hormones, or anything (I suppose I should be grateful to Leeds NHS for being useless for something lol), so I can go ahead and do it, and now I am. Yes, booked in for my screening next Thursday, for a trial starting towards the end of the month.

Actually a trial that holds special interest for me, as its related to an arthritis treatment. Yes, thats right, the old girl with stiff joints, trying a new treatment for arthritis, what could be more apt? OK, fine, the money I’m getting paid for this will be handy, both for continuing to be able to pay rent, and to buy Christmas presents and the like, though I’m not broke…yet! But yes, regardless of that, doing something like this really appeals, so I only hope now I finally pass an ‘interview’ (the screening), and am able to do it.

Oh, and that lady doing the Facebook (and as I have since discovered, Twitter) pages, she’s even more of a character than I thought, and I’m really looking forward to meeting her on the day of my screening.

Who knows, maybe they can arrange to trial me on a drug that makes you sail through competency based questions testing, that would be handy! Then I might cinch a job afterwards, beginning to need it!

Right, lastly, the video. Well, I thought this kind of apt. Thompson Twins, back on stage? Well, Tom Bailey is at least, great news.

Leave a Reply

