Looking on two fronts

Yes, I know, I’ve been quiet for a week, apologies. Two reasons for that, firstly, not a lot really has happened that would make for a decent blog posting, then the last few days have suddenly got a bit crazy. But feeling I owe something at least, lets bring you into the loop.

Firstly, the flight back, all very smooth, well but for one interesting event that I first got annoyed about, but then when I realised why it had happened, and I’d calmed down, turned to amusement. I arrived at Boston Airport, with boarding passes in hand, so I just joined the baggage drop queue, to get rid of my case, and start the trek through to the gate. I have no idea why, but some ‘jobsworth’ woman at Boston decided that my boarding passes werent good enough, and that she had to print them off again at the airport. But, instead of letting me put my details into the machine, she decided to do it for herself. What happens, it asks for all your passport details, and presumably checks everything is OK. Well, one of the questions I noticed, was gender. Of course, if I do that currently, I put male, to match my current passport. What I realised after the event, was that of course she put me through as female. Due to that, my ESTA didnt match up, it asked for my visa details, and of course I didnt have any.

So, for the next half hour or so, I’m stood in a queue at Customer Services, so they can sort out the issue. He just took my passport, put it in the machine, smiled at a raging old lady, and tagged my bag, and that was it. I glared at the lady accordingly as I passed, but only about an hour later did I realise what had happened, so American Airlines were saved from a blistering email lol.

Normal regime since then, not a lot of excitement. Well, apart from initiating job hunts, both sides of the Atlantic. Just before I came back, I started hunting for jobs with a November start date. One of those led me to an interview yesterday in Bradford, which I’m still waiting to hear back on. The other is a job in Huddersfield, due to start on November 2nd, the Monday after I get back. Online typing tests, piece of cake. Led to a phone interview today, which ended with a couple of competency based questions, which as you know, I love…not! From somewhere came 2 brilliant answers, and I’ve progressed to an office assessment next Tuesday. I have also got a couple of prospects I need to ring people about when I get back, so all in all…

Other side of the Atlantic, no, nothing very dramatic. Just signed up with a few agencies who might help me to fulfil my Hollywood dream, but I doubt it. One guy seems to be keen on me, I spent an hour or so talking to him on Skype this afternoon, which consisted of me trying to get him to set me up for work, and him trying to get into my knickers, for want of a better term! I suspect he hasnt read the stuff about me being a pre op Trans, but anyway… its amusing all the same, but under the circumstances, I’m not expecting much to happen through him. Memories of the old casting couch days there, lol. Hopefully one of the others will at least lead to something! Not holding my breath, mind.

Fine, the video. Not quite in the title, but it sort of sums up my current job hunting situation

Leave a Reply

