The sweetest thing

Well, yes, today officially was the big day, I hit 57. Unless you have done so elsewhere, feel free to leave greetings. OK, lurkers, I know you wont, but no harm in asking.

But in all truth, because of the way things work out with life, it was actually Saturday that proved to be the magical day this weekend. It wasnt in my plans to have Saturday off, but it suited work, due to the Cheltenham Festival and all that, but it made for a nice change.

And due to Nicole being elsewhere this evening, we took that chance to have my birthday celebration meal a couple of days early. And I took the chance to wear a strapless, green dress, most suitable for this weekend, given the cricket yesterday (not too much about that please), and the fact that its St Patricks Day tomorrow. Yes, I know its a silly thing, but I do love wearing a strapless dress nowadays, even if I’m not giving a big show of cleavage in doing so.

So fine, just after 6.30, we get back home, and I have an email from a friend, asking me for some personal details, for ‘something’. Given I know him well, I passed them on, hey, it was only my name as on my passport, nothing more anyway. He had mentioned leaving messages on Facebook, and Yahoo messenger as well, so I went off to those, to let him know the deed was done. He was still on Yahoo, so we started chatting. All I was told at this point was that something would be waiting for me in LA.

No, not a mad scientist who was literally going to turn me into Jean Harlow lol! Though given its Hollywood, there may well be one!

So fine, after a little while, the news came out, and for those who havent read the follow up comment on the last blog, its basically this. I am going to that party in Hollywood, and I dont have to concern myself about the cost, as the ticket, and dinner have been paid for, and given to me as the most wonderful present by James (yes, he was the one I was talking to), and Kate (who I soon ended up talking to as well). Words cannot describe how lovely a gesture this is, and now all I’ve got to decide is which dress I’m wearing!

Today has been calmer, got some nice stuff designed to make me even more beautiful from the folk here this morning as well, though I’m not sure how much of a miracle me looking stunning would take! But anyway…should look better after tomorrow, as I have a massage, and facial booked for the afternoon.

Oh, the cricket. Ireland did well, won more games than England in fact, but didnt make the quarter finals. But even so, its been a great few weeks, watching them down under. Hopefully at some point this summer, I’ll get to see them in the flesh, though job finding, and schedules may play a part in seeing how much, and when.

The video, from a time when U2 took themselves less seriously. And it sums up perfectly the gift received, from two truly wonderful friends, on Saturday evening. Just under 5 weeks from now, ‘Jean’ will go to the ball!

Leave a Reply

