The way things were

Before 6 weeks ago, I hadnt visited Newbury since the end of 2001, when I left here, to head back to Kent, for reasons I’d rather not mention here, as they are rather personal. The way I left, to rush home to Kent, did mean that I didnt get much of a chance to say goodbye to the town that had been my home for about 2 years. And to be honest, for a very long time, I assumed I wouldnt be back, given how far it is from where I live now, and the fact that I had no ties to lead me back to the place.

Then, about 6 months or so ago, I heard from someone I used to work with, when I was the contact for reps at Farnell, who had now moved into the beauty business. And yes, as the story has already been told, I had the chance to get some semi permanent make up done, at a reduced rate, and I grabbed the chance. Fine, if I’d known then that 4 months later I was going to be on a redundancy list, I might have been more cautious about the money. Though equally, I must say, having it done has done wonders for my confidence, the look is amazing, and I cant thank Paula Elvey enough for that.

But this blog isnt about me, and the make up, its about me, and Newbury.

When I had the initial work done, it took up most of the time I was here, I stayed 2 nights at Paula’s house, and beyond a brief sojourn to eat on the 2nd night, I really didnt come into town, just passing it by as I headed to the station, and home.

This time around, I’ve had the chance to see a lot more of Newbury, and its been fun doing so. There are one or two places that are the same as when I was here, but most of it has changed pretty dramatically, hardly surprising in nearly 14 years, I guess? But am I glad I stayed 1 extra day, and had a look around? You bet I am! But no, I quickly decided that going out to see the building I lived in for those 2 years was not a wise idea.

Funnily enough, when I left Newbury, I was still living as a man, about the last time that I was, in all honesty. I sort of knew, but tried not to accept the fact I was living in the wrong body then, but it didnt last very long, about a month in fact! So yes, coming back here as a woman makes it extra precious for me.

But I know one thing for sure now, I can never return to Yeovil, where I worked for 16 years up to ’99, or to the Medway Towns (last seen in 2003), where most of my formative years were where I lived. I know that the changes would look strange to me, and for that reason alone, I dont think I want to return to either, after this trip back here. I guess I sort of knew this might be the case, because I know what it felt like when I returned to Jersey after 30 years, but…like there, at least I’ve finally closed the circle on that place in my life.

The last tale from today.

As is my style, when out down town today, I visited a ‘few’ charity shops. In one, I found a pair of absolutely gorgeous dresses, both on sale at £12. The snag, both had zips at the back, not something I can easily cope with, with my limited joint flexibility, and things. One very 20’s style dress was divine, and a size 14. But as it was therefore a perfect fit, there was no way I could get the zip done up from behind me, and no way I could get it on without undoing the zip.

But there was another, a size 18, in silver, that looks like it could quite easily have blown in from the 30’s! Now, because this was a larger size, I can get into it, without having to play with the zip. And thankfully the material clings to a girl’s figure, it still looks snug on me. So yes, I bought it. Oh, and by the way, it still had the original price tag in it, £200! Looks like someone who was a size 18 bought it, couldnt get into it, and just sent it off to the charity shop! Crazy! But I’m glad they did!

The video, well its almost the title of the blog, but its apt

Leave a Reply

