The man of my dreams?

Oh, and please, anyone, dont let him see this posting…swoon!

To be honest, generally when I get home from a 10 pm finish to a shift at work, all I want to do is catch up on the internet, and get to bed. No pleasure, just purpose.

But last night, just for once, finishing at 10, on a Monday, in the middle of the NFL season has a delight for me. You see, over here, on British Eurosport, we get the coverage of the Monday night game, live, just as ESPN broadcast it in the US. And this week, for one week only, because we’ve put the clocks back, and they haven’t, the game started at 12.30 am our time, the coverage starting 15 minutes earlier.

So fine, by 12.15, the TV is on, and waiting, even though I’m not that far from done, but no way am I going to bed until…I’ve seen Jon Gruden, and heard that wonderful voice too. I’m having a good year on that front of course, having already had the pleasure of ‘his company’ in Kansas City last month, and looking forward to a second ‘date’ next month in Albany, but this was a pleasant bonus.

No, I’m not going to find you a picture of this gorgeous hunk (in my middle aged opinion at least), just type his name in Google images, and…I know some of my contacts are ‘amused’ by my adoration of this guy, but anyway…

Funnily enough, I’ve known Jon Gruden a long time, in a viewing sense at least. No, I’ve never met him, nor am I likely to. Besides which, it would probably be a pointless exercise, as I would be in a puddle of swoon on the floor, in all likelihood, if I did!

Go back to the turn of the century, and he first came to my eye, as head coach of first, the Oakland Raiders, and then the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, leading them to a Superbowl win, ironically over his former team. I actually saw much of that game, in the US, in Chicago’s main train station, as I was heading across country at the time. And yes, even though I didnt support his team, he caught my eye! Probably my first man crush as a woman to be honest, though back then it was far from an official status.

Anyway, like all coaches, in the end, in 2009, he got fired, and went off to work for ESPN. Now given Monday night football takes place in the early hours of Tuesday morning, I dont see a lot of him nowadays. But whenever I go to the US, in the NFL season, on a Monday night…without a doubt! My once a year treat, as I would jokingly call it.

This year now, it will be a hat trick! 🙂

So fine, as Doris Day sang, my secret love is no secret, any more…

No, the video isn’t DD though, but she is blonde, and her first name begins with a D. I might not have been a Sunday Girl dreaming, strictly it was Tuesday over here, to be fair, but…2 songs for the price of one!

Leave a Reply

