50 years of Dr Who

Back in 1963, the BBC came up with a new children’s programme called Dr Who, which was first shown on 23rd November that year. No, I cant remember if I actually watched that first episode or not, far too long ago for that. What I do know, is that at some point in William Hartnell’s reign as the Doctor, I watched several episodes. Since then, with every reincarnation of the Doctor, I’ve seen at least 1 episode. Of course, thats all Paul McGann ever made, but fortunately, I saw it. My recent working life has made keeping that record up more complex, but I managed to grab one episode with Christopher Ecclestone, and matched that number with Matt Smith. Now it seems, at some point I will have to keep the streak going with Peter Capaldi.

My personal favourites, Jon Pertwee, Tom Baker, and David Tennant, I guess.

My favourite baddies, unsurprisingly to many, it would have to be the Cybermen. Mind, they have changed their look over their time too, the best part of 50 years as well. There was a long gap between 1989, and 2005 when no episodes appeared, beyond that one special with McGann. But then it returned, and has been reincarnated ever since.

So, 2 weeks from yesterday, Dr Who will quite literally celebrate its 50th birthday. Wow! The trailer for said programme

Leave a Reply

