Happy New Year?

Yes, I know technically its a couple of days early, but I dont know how much time I’ll have on Monday, so lets play it safe and do it now.

Actually because of events, a couple of things which have became the norm for me didnt happen. Nothing critical, and both sports related. For the first time in quite a number of years, I didnt get to a Baseball game this year. It was always going to be a ‘one off’ in Seattle in April, but then thanks to a marathon delay from American Airlines, combined with there only being the one game in town on the Sunday the week I was there, it never happened. Funnily enough, unless I have a major change in plans next year, I’ll make it 2 in a row, as neither Wichita, or Rochester have a MLB team. I might get a game of baseball though, of the college kind in Wichita next April, lets see how things play out though, so much depends on other influences for that.

The other, due to Euro 2012, the Olympics, and a few other things was not getting to see Ireland play cricket live, and in the flesh. I did see some of the virtual washout against the Aussies on Sky, but only at work. This is something I definitely intend to correct next year, if only so I can see Trent Johnston play once more before his expected retirement at the end of next season.

So what did happen beyond 2 wonderful US holidays? Well, I got to see my first Louise Brooks film in full, a real delight. And yes, as is well known, I wore a dress to the Works Christmas Dinner, and then again for the house Christmas Dinner too! That may have been a first, but somehow I suspect now, it wont be the last. First wearing of a skirt to work too, but that was slightly less sensational lol!

Seattle, my solo trip in April was lovely, after the initial flight delay, so lovely to see it again before easing off dramatically on West Coast trips, its just getting a bit much for the old body to do it regularly now. September was wonderful, back to New England (and New York State) to meet up again with Kate for a wonderful week, and James for a wonderful day in Albany.

Next year, I go ‘state bagging’ in the US, adding Kansas to my list, and taking the total up to 22. There is a possibility of making it 23, with Oklahoma, but a few things have to fall into place for that. I have a sort of target of 25, but not sure how I get there to be honest. No, I dont expect to get very close to 50 lol! The ‘Louise Brooks memorial tour’ will be fun, even if there is so no great anniversary in her life, it will be special for me all the same. Yes, Wichita, Kansas, where she lived for a few years in 2 splits, and then Rochester, New York, where she died, and is buried.

Beyond that, I dont expect to pick the winner of the Grand National (my only bet of the year nowadays), its been a few years, and I cant see my luck changing lol! Other than that, no idea, will just have to wait and see what 2013 brings, other than my 55th birthday, which God permitting will happen in March. Oh my, I’m getting older lol!

Right, enough words, lets get to the video, and yes, back to form, its the obvious one!

Leave a Reply

